top of page

Hold Doors

Updated: Nov 25, 2019

Welcome to "Really!?! The adventures of the courteous stickman" A tale of life in the big cities by Domelgabor


I have been living in Hong Kong since 2011, and Hong Kong is home to some of the most uncourteous people I have ever seen or met in my entire life. But don't get me wrong, I previously lived in New York, London and Paris, and it seems that, in general, all people in big cities suffer from a huge lack of courtesy and manners to the point that being rude and impolite is an accepted attitude, part of the local culture and usages.


In these four big cities, countless times, I grumbled on my own, cursing in my head at the person I just witnessed doing something rude, impolite and utterly uncourteous, with no consideration whatsoever for others in his or her immediate surroundings. And to be frank, Hong Kong seems to be, by far, the top of the list when it comes to big cities lacking courtesy and manners.


So, the idea of, one day, transcribing my feelings and emotions about these inconsiderate people and their actions via drawings and illustrations, slowly took shape in my head. And I promise myself that, one day, I will create a website/blog just to write, share and tell about these annoying experiences, and complement my texts with drawings and/or illustrations.


That day has finally come, and today is the day, and "Really!?! The adventures of the courteous stickman (by Domelgabor)" is that website/blog. It is a tale of life in the big cities described via stick-man figures, which are the main personages of these weird situations, with texts and drawing by myself, Dominique Noel a.k.a. Domelgabor (another one of my multiple aliases). I hope you will like it.


And without further due, let's start with one of my personal top annoying situations: "Holding Doors"


The time people used to hold doors for others is long gone. Once upon a time, in what could have been a parallel universe (as life just 20 years ago was so much different than it is nowadays), holding the door for the person right behind you or for an elderly person or a pregnant woman or even someone with his/her hands full with grocery bags was considered a nice, polite, helpful, considerate gesture at the time.


Nowadays, the national sport, especially here in Hong Kong, is to wait for the person in front to open the door, then rush to sneak in without touching the door, and effortlessly zipping inside while the door is closing (or even slamming) on the next person, who has to then push the door again (sigh).


Rings the bell? Yes, me too. It happened countless to me since I live in Hong Kong (even in New York), and every time it makes me feel like: "REALLY!?!" (hence the name of this website/blog 😉)


It is a national behaviour here in Hong Kong, and people don't even mind doing it. They really don't give a s**t. So inconsiderate!


Here is one of my stick-man drawings to illustrate this situation.



Isn't inconsiderate? Personally, I hate when people do that and I despise all people who do it, and they should despise themselves for being so selfish, so self-absorbed. Times have changed, we are now living in the "Me first" time. And this attitude of individualism, narcissism, self-importance and selfishness make me sick and sad at the same time.


It is so desperately and inconsiderately annoying when people act like this.


Please don't be like these people. Be courteous, have some manners and be considerate to others, hold doors for the person behind you. It doesn't cost a thing to be nice and it even makes you a better person in this crazy and uncourteous world. So, think about it next time it happens.


That's it for today! It was the first situation of "Really!?! The adventures of the courteous stickman". More to come soon, so come back from time to time to check my new posts with new situations and new drawings to illustrate and visually transcribe my scenarios and stories.


Stay safe and be courteous, and try to do one good deed a day! It doesn't cost anything to have a bit of compassion, understanding, kindness, volunteering, help, listening to or support to a family member, a person in your community or a person you meet during your day. And at the end of the day, it makes you a better person.


Until next time, all the best!


Domelgabor

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page