top of page

COVID-19: The Travelling Paradox

Updated: Sep 25, 2020


COVID-19: The Travelling Paradox ©Domelgabor 2020
COVID-19: The Travelling Paradox - Illustration by ©Domelgabor 2020

The following post is a tale of my recent experience travelling back to France for 10 days on a sudden impulse driven by personal and egoistical reasons amid the COVID-19 situation.


Preparing for the trip


Late July 2020, watching the news and realizing the COVID-19 situation was worsening everywhere across the globe, while thinking about my ageing parents as well as my friends in France, I decided on a sudden impulse to buy a ticket to travel to my home town of Bordeaux.


As I live in Hong Kong, staying in France for just a week is too short. Especially knowing that I'll lose 1 day to go and 1 day on the way back. So, I look at my remaining Annual Leave days and went for 10 days instead. Also realizing that on my way back to Hong Kong, I would have to do a mandatory quarantine of 14 days (imposed by the HK government), and, thus, that I would also have to take these days as Annual Leave days, leaving me barely any for the rest of the year.


I was not even gone that, already, a list of pros and cons started to be filled in my head with more cons than pros. Yet, I was determined to go. I made up my mind. Moreover, with the ongoing economical, financial, political and social crisis affecting most countries around the world, nobody knows what will happen within the next 3-6 months, so, better now than never, right? Tomorrow might prove to be impossible, you never know. So, I had to do it.


I wanted to travel around the middle of August, but with the following 14 days quarantine, I was sure to miss "back to school day" for my kids. Thus, I had no other choice but to leave at the beginning of the month if I wanted to be back on time to be with them and be able to do what needs to be done. (1)


Despite the mandatory quarantine, (as well as consuming most of my AL days and leaving earlier than planned), I was excited and was looking forward to it. In the meantime, I was also anxious, pondering the fact that travelling amid the virus situation was either the most egoistic and stupid thing (if I eventually get infected by the virus), or the bravest and most satisfactory thing I would have ever done in my life.


Was it inconsiderate for me to go, against all odds, despite the COVID-19 situation and all recommendations not to do it?


Meaning that I had everything to lose and could eventually put everyone and everything at risk by doing so: my kids, my wife, my helper (2), my neighbours, my family, my friends, some commuters, my colleagues, my co-workers, my job, etc... And not to dramatize, but even my life was on the line, for God sake! And the thought crossed my mind countless times: Is it really worth it?


What if I get infected on the way? I may not come back from France... And if I succeed to come back to HK (where I currently live), I may go straight to the hospital... Either way, I might recover or not? with some sequels or not? If seriously infected, I will probably lose my family, my job... and everything else that depend on it... lose all opportunities to get my life back! What was I thinking?


On the other end, I was also thinking that a lot of people are recovering from this virus, with sequels for some and nothing for others. That most persons dying from COVID-19 have a certain age (above 65-70 years old) (3) and/or already presented other pathologies prior to getting infected. And despite a few benign physical issues, mostly due to inherited genetic conditions combined with a certain difficulty to cop with life daily dose of anxiety and stress, I can say that I'm in pretty good shape overall for a 47 years old man.


Consequently, if I respect the safety rules of wearing a mask, wash my hands frequently and use hand sanitizer, as well as respect the social distance and do not participate in gatherings, I should be fine. I just have to be careful. Keep the distance. No kissing. No hugging. No shaking hands. No big deal. And no point to overthink it, right?


Yet, I could not help but overthinking it. It's annoying, I know, but it is in my nature. And, evidently, it always comes in this kind of moment of intense reflection on my existential issues questioning my morals and principles.


The list of pros and cons in my head was getting longer, and the number of cons was overwhelming. However, for once in a very long time, I wanted to be "me" once again. Be like the one I once was, when I was in my early 20s: daring, curious, spontaneous, pushing the boundaries, conquering the world, doing as I please, thinking only about what I wanted to do just because I wanted to do so. No matter what!


Frankly, I greatly missed being "me". I had not done it over the last 20 years, being married with 2 kids and the responsibilities and sacrifices that come with it. Yet, that situation ended abruptly 2 years ago, and I have been slowly waking up and recovering from that lethargy ever since. Retrieving my ownself little by little. Learning to be "me" once again and do things for myself. Thinking about me first and what I really want to do and to achieve.


It was clear in my head. This trip to France, even amid the virus situation, felt like the right thing to do though. I was ready and my desire to go, to do something like this, so egoistically, so selfishly, for me and me only, no matter how stupid and dangerous it was, was stronger than my fear and all the inconveniences and consequences it may causes.


I was out of my mind to think that it was ok to put my life at stake that way, but, to me, the cause was greater than the eventual effects if things went wrong. In all honesty, I wanted to realize and confirm something of great importance to me, something I wanted to do for years, as well as seeing my country, my hometown, my parents and eventually some friends if I could.


Have you ever thought about doing something like this in your life? On a sudden impulse? No matter how stupid or dangerous? Something for you and you only? Something you wanted to do for you? Just be yourself? For once in your life? Lose control? Lose the grip on your life? Go against your morals and principles and all rationals? No matter the consequences? After all, you'll never know if you don't do it, right?


What if within the next few months everything goes bad? What if it was the last time you could do so? What if it was the only way to prove something to yourself? Something you had always wanted to do, but postponed for years and ended up never doing it for no reason, just by fear, morals or principles...


Sometimes you have to take a leap of faith and dare to do what you want to do, for you. Egoistically. Selfishly. Just because you want to. Just because you have to know... because you want to know...... And that's the mindset I was in: No matter what... Fuck it, let's go! Let's do it!


.............................................................................................................................................................

Aparte


You have to put things back into their context: living in Hong Kong and listening to the news every day, I had the impression to be in a haven relatively free of the virus, (even if that was not the case, but it kind of felt like it), and that the rest of the world was crumbling, falling apart, stuck in an infinite spiral of unfortunate events spreading havoc everywhere (COVID-19 and other viruses, climate change, drought, flooding, wildfire, economical, financial, political and social turmoil, etc..). Travelling was the last thing anyone would want to do in that situation.


Also, it is important to mention that I have been living abroad outside of France for the past 23 years, nearly half of my life, and while I still have most of my family and friends living there, I don't get to go back so often. In fact, definitely not as often as I would like to, mostly for financial reasons. In short, I'm a family man, my kids are my priorities and life is expensive in Hong Kong.


Understandably, not everyone can be the type of expat working in Banks, Finance, Constructions or whatever else in major international companies paying for everything from the rent to all the other fees living in a big city (like Hong Kong) with kids in an international school cost these days. On the contrary, I have always been on a local contract paying everything for myself and by myself, and trust me it makes a huge difference.


However, despite the danger outside of HK and personal financial distress, I wanted to go. I had to go. Not that my life depended on it, but something, deep inside, motivated me to do it. In fact, what triggered this sudden impulse to travel to France was more fear, triggered by gut feelings, rather than the need to just fulfil a desire to go back to my home country for some annual vacations of some sort. I wanted to at least see my parents.


Fear... Fear of what could happen to them? To the rest of my family and friends? Fear of what could or will happen within the next few months also?... How things will evolve? Fear of losing them... and not be able to visit them for long while... Fear of losing my job... Fear that I may have to do an emergency come back to France if things worsened in HK and had to plan ahead, anticipate... Fear of the unknown... Fear of having no possibility to project myself in the near future... Fear that this life I have been living for a few decades suddenly stopped...


And everyone can relate to this fear and feelings these days. The situation in the US is catastrophic. Europe is experiencing a surge of hundreds (if not thousands) of infected cases on a daily basis for the past month. And the rest of the world is in turmoil. It is chaos everywhere. More and more people are losing their jobs. No money for food, for rent or anything else.


No money to feed their family and loved ones. Relying on their diminishing savings and whatever the government may have planned or given to help. Millions of people simply relying on food ticket to be able to eat and put food on the table for their family. Psychologically, morally and physically affected. And for how long? No one knows. No one can anticipate.


In Hong Kong where the population concentration is so dense and the risk of infection is somewhat greater than in some other places, the probability of getting infected is even higher than any other places.


Yet, until a few months ago, despite the ongoing protests since June 2019 and the virus situation since January 2020, Hong Kong was one of the safest places on earth with less than 10 deaths and barely about 1000 infected in total, thanks to HK Government strict rules and Asian people self-discipline in general.


Yet again, the situation changed around mid-June as, unfortunately, amongst other factors, the loosening of some of the HK Gov restrictions and the guard's lowering of people due to the summer months (like everywhere else) initiated a resurgence of the virus.


International flight crew members and seamen from tankers were not necessarily tested on arrival either, as well as all other people considered as exceptions (4), which contributed to generate a second wave (or 3rd wave depending on how you look at it) in the "Fragrant Harbour" (5).


So, the question came to my mind, is it really safe to stay in Hong Kong any longer? Wouldn't it be better to go back to France? To at least be with the rest of my family? Have some support? Be able to fall back on our feet? Or at least be able to save a little to bounce back at some point...


And/or, as we are a French-American family, what about going back to the US? No way! Not now. Not with Trump in charge. Not with what is happening right now. The situation is catastrophic over there and people are getting disoriented, helpless, depressed, even harmful or totally crazy.


They even put the deads in refrigerated trucks! For what? What is the purpose? Burry them later? Burn them later? Why? Their family will not even be able to assist to the funerals... So, what's the point? Moreover, it may keep the virus dormant in these dead corpses, creating a very hazardous situation and a potential danger later on.


There is no right or wrong in a pandemic, things have to be done save and protect the majority, no matter what. What is happening in the US and how things are handled will surely lead to insurrection, uprising, protests, insurgence, degeneration and end up in an implosion of violence and lootings from the revolted people, as well as civil riots and localized gangs confrontations. It is already happening somehow.


How do you think people will react after a few months of having no social security, no medical cover, no job, no money to pay anything, having to wait long hours to get a food basket or food tickets to feed their family. How do you think people will react when they will no other choice but to respond if they feel attacked, bullied or even oppressed? And not only in the US, but everywhere else too.


Not to be too pessimistic, but give the situation another 3 to 6 months like the past 6 months, with companies and businesses closing, people losing their jobs, the whole travelling, tourism and events industry in a critical state, import-export at a halt in most countries, the global economy falling miserably, and a growing concern of an unavoidable, undeniable and unprecedented global financial, political and social crisis, and things will start to turn south before the end of the year if nothing is done to keep the situation in check.

.............................................................................................................................................................


Even with all of these in mind, as well as all the consequences and repercussions that may incur from it, I wanted to go. I had to go. Yet, I wanted to talk to my parents about it. Get an external opinion. Some support from my family and friends. Not that it will change my mind, but I still wanted to hear what they thought about it. What they had to say about this madness taken me to be so eager to suddenly wanting to travel within such conditions.


My mother suggested me to come. Stressing the point that, if I don't do it now, I may never be able to do it for a long while. My aunt also suggested me to do so, insisting on the fact "virtual" will never equal or replace "reality", and better reunite for "real" rather than with Whatsapp, Messenger, Skype or Zoom video chat. And that life was too short no to do so anyway.


My father, on the other end, reminded me that travelling now, with the virus situation, could have consequences and sequels, and not only on me, and therefore better be cautious and safe than sorry. For him, I guess the "what if you get the virus?" question was the main one to consider rather than anything else, and that travelling was not the best idea right now.


2 against 1... I needed one more opinion, which came from a dear friend of mine, who also suggested me to come, saying that there won't be much chance for me to catch the virus if I'm careful and respect the rules of social distancing, wear a mask, wash my hands often or use hand sanitizer. And that I had to think about myself for once. Think about what I wanted to do, and do it rather than ask myself thousands of questions about doing it or not.



Buying the ticket and the premise of the trip


I found my ticket with Skyscanner and took the cheapest one I could find within the early August dates, not easy in such short notice, 9 days before departure. Flying with British Airways Hong Kong to Bordeaux via a long connection. 14 hours to wait at Heathrow Airport on the way in. 14 hours... (sigh)... Deep house in the ears with a good book should do it.


However, I did not care. And, I had no other choice anyway. I had a budget constraint and all the other flights were at least twice the price I paid for mine. Also, the good thing is that when I booked it, the plane was literally empty. Only 5 other persons scattered in the first 2 compartments at the front of the plane had booked so far. Fingers crossed it would stay that way.


Prior to and while searching for the ticket, I look at the travelling conditions outbound and inbound from and to Hong Kong as well as the ones for the various countries to be visited during the trip: UK (London - connection) and France (Bordeaux - final destination).


For the United Kingdom, it was easy, I went to www.gov.uk (6) to find most info, which can be resumed to no 14 days quarantine for the people from the EU, or from the countries listed (here) and for the exceptions who are exempt of the UK border rules (here).


"Before you travel to the UK from anywhere outside the Common Travel Area, you should provide your journey, contact details and the address where you will self-isolate. You will be able to complete the public health passenger locator form 48 hours before you arrive. You must present these details on your arrival in England." - www.gov.uk


So, possessing a French passport and filling the form online less than 48 hours before departure, was the only things I needed to travel to the UK, even if just transiting. Easy. Quite surprising in fact considering the current Covid-19 situation in the UK.



For France, I logically went to the French Minister of Interior (here) and the French Consulate websites (here) and things got a little more complicated.






As you can read in the images above, even if holding a French Passport, coming from Hong Kong, I had to pass a COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior departure and carry proof of the negative result with me, as it could be requested by the airlines prior to registering at the desk and/or even prior to boarding into the plane. Various forms that I found (here) were to be complete too (as far as I understood, as it is a bit convoluted in my opinion). (7)


The flight was booked for the 2nd of August, so, I had about 9 days to find a way to get the test. I first went to my doctor at the local public clinic near my job. And to my surprise, he told me that public clinics and public hospitals can do the test (for about 200 HKD or even less), but do not provide you with a test result proof or certificate that can be used for international travelling. (8)


So, I had to go to a private clinic or hospital to do it. No choice if I wanted the test result proof certificate. No choice but to pay the hefty price either. Funny how easy it is for some people to capitalize on health matters. In Hong Kong, COVID-19 test prices vary between 1,600 HKD to up to +3,000 HKD. I was speechless in comparison to the 200 HKD in the public sector, or even around 900-1000 HKD on do-it-yourself at home choices online. (9)


Finding a spot to do the test somewhere within 72 hours of departure proved quite difficult. However, 4 days of phone calls and nearly a week of daily headaches, failures and intense cold sweat later, I was able to secure an appointment with a doctor at a private clinic.


He explained everything that I had to do: spitting in a small container, first thing in the morning, prior to eating, drinking or even brushing my teeth. Then seal the container tight. Put it in a specific ziplock bag. Put the bag in another specific ziplock bag, then have it collected to be sent to the lab. Result to be sent by emails within 48 hours. Enough time to have it before departure.


Prior to leaving the private clinic, one of the nurses showed me the label (supposedly to be stuck on the container) for me to verify my details and make sure everything is in order before she sticks it on. She then gave me a little paper bag with all the needed things for the test inside. I quickly glanced inside, saying out loud "Is everything in there?", she said "Yes", so, I thanked the nurses at the reception and left.


Once at home, I was relieved, departure was only a few days away, and I had the test with me, eager to wake up the next morning to do it and send it right away to make sure to have the result on time. It is only a bit later that I decided to have a look at what was in the bag to get familiar with it, rather than waiting for the next day to discover it.


To my surprise, the label on the container had no info whatsoever on it, it was blank of any of my details. How will they recognize it is my sample? Common sense had me writing my full name on the container (at least) for them not to mess it up. But, I was kind of pissed and stressed at the same time. I mean it was a big deal for me. Without the test result, I might not able to go.


Moreover, the nurse asked me if everything was in order on the label prior to leaving the clinic, but she forgot to put it on the container. I called them and texted them, but no answer. It was already late. I took a breather. And realized that all my details were with the forms that I filled and had to place in the ziplock bag with the container anyway, so, I was hoping it would be enough to work.


The next day, a courier came to collect the sample. I contacted the clinic telling them that I just wrote my full name on the container, filled the form and sent both with the courier. The doctor ensured me that it should be fine. I did not miss the occasion to tell him a little bit of what I thought in regard to the nurse's mistake. Nicely and politely evidently, but still.


Despite the little incident, I received the result 48 hours later: negative. God bless. A positive result would have been a disaster. Although you never know, I had been extremely careful since the beginning of the pandemic back in January 2020. That is what you do when you have a family, including kids and other people, constantly revolving around you. You think about them before you think about you.



The day of the flight


The next day was D-day. The day of the departure. Of course, my little physical issues kicked in due to growing anxiety and stress inside me. Some people handle well anxiety and stress, I don't. I will spare you the details, but let's say I had to go to the bathroom countless times, and consequently managed to leave the house much later than planned.


Should I take a taxi directly to the airport? No, I still have time to take the metro to Central station, then take the express train to the airport. Moreover, taxi fare will cost me a fortune from where I live to the airport.


I rushed to the MTR (Hong Kong metro). Look at my phone for the time. I never wear watches. The metro arrived. I jumped in. Found a seat close to an exit door. A few stops later, I connected to another metro to Central Station. When I arrived, I ran as fast as I could to the Airport Express. Asked the clerk behind the information desk when was the next train? "Half-an-hour" he said, then another 25-30 minutes to the airport. Damned, I'm not going to make it.


I ran to the taxi station nearby. And asked a driver: "How long to the Airport sir?" "Around 45 minutes or so..." No choice, I will be too late if I take the train. "How much will it be?" "Around 350 HKD..." Shit, I now wish I took a taxi directly from home, it would have been much faster.


Anyway, no time to think about that now (et avec des "Si" on pourrait refaire le monde). I went to the ATM, as I did not have enough, got some cash for the trip too, jumped into the cab, and fortunately for me, he drove quite fast. We zoomed to the airport.

I rushed in, glanced quickly at the departure board to find the desks of British Airways and the gate. Run to BA registration desk. As I was late I was probably the last person to arrive. Yet, to my surprise, the line was quite long. Not what I had expected. Especially that the flight was roughly empty when I booked it, 9 days earlier.


I looked at the time and sense a hint of stress coming in me. The line was barely moving. I asked the person in front of me if she was also waiting for the 23h10 flight to London. She said yes. I was relieved. Yet, still was the line. It eventually came to my turn. The BA crew at the desk ask me for my passport and e-booking proof. I gave him my passport, HK Permanent Resident ID and a copy of the booking online.


Intrigued that he was not mentioning it, I told him that I had a copy of the COVID-19 PCR test result that was apparently requested to go to France (prior registering and/or even prior embarking into the plane). He said that he was not aware and had not received such instruction or information that a test result proof was requested to board the plane. "I can check?" he said. I told him "No, no need, thanks.", as I did not want to insist on that point. If I could get in and board the plane without, why not?


Yet, I was a bit disappointed as I paid the hefty price of roughly HKD 2,000 for it, and hope it was not for nothing. In any case, it was not for nothing as it reassured me that I was not infected, which was a good thing. I thanked him and move on to pass the customs. Quick and smooth. No problem.


Then I found my way to the gate. Surprisingly, here again, they were tons of people waiting to board the same flight as me. How come so many people had the same idea to book a last-minute flight to London in the last 9 days? Mindboggling...


Boarding started. All of us lining up, wearing masks and other protective equipment like gloves, helmets, goggles, face shield, or even other garments designed to protect the wearer's body from infection, to the extent of biohazards suit look-a-like for some. You can never be too careful. The safe distance was not respected though, difficult to have people being at least one meter apart, while in the line boarding a plane (a bus, a train or anything else for that matter).

I arrived at my row. Put my small suitcase in the luggage compartment above. Then finally sat down on my seat by the window. Easier to sleep at night and to take pictures of the sky and from the sky. And as I'm a little claustrophobic, it also feels good to be able to see outside. It makes me feel at ease. I took the window seat as the flight was roughly empty when I booked it. If the plane had been full, I might have taken the aisle seat, easier for the toilets and walking around when the pressure numbs your legs and feet.


An Asian man in his late 40s or early 50s sat on the aisle seat. No one yet in between us. I was praying internally it stays that way. I looked at him, then looked outside like if I was trying not to look at people standing for them not to realize there was an empty seat next to me. Like if it would have changed anything anyway. Yet, I continued hoping. A man, standing a few rows in front asked one the flight attendants if the flight was full, she replied: "Yes, it is quite full today". Bummer! Luckily, a few minutes passed and no one came to seat between us. Hurray!


As the plane took off, I was, as usual, praying God (in my head, tight fists) to save everyone in this plane and make things right for us to all arrive in London, safe and well, and in one piece (and not infected if possible). I always do that whenever I fly. Don't ask me why, but it is a thing with me. I have this strange relationship with God when situations get a little tense and I'm not in control of what I can do or what is happening in my surroundings. I talk to God and that makes me feel better and safe somehow. Not only for me but for everyone on the plane too. Hard to explain. Sometimes you just need to have a little faith.


We were airborne. Soon, the ground appeared far away. Small roads and houses fading away. We crossed the blanket of clouds. When up a little more, to finally reach our cruising altitude level of roughly 33,000 feet (10,000 meters or 10km) high. Crazy to think that commercial planes reach this altitude in less than 12 minutes usually. The sea of clouds darkened below us, presaging a storm in the making. Yet, it did not matter anymore, as we were above it, flying quietly in the heights where the troposphere ends and the stratosphere begins.


I was glad no one was sitting by me. It was a relief, as I would not have to think about touching an arm, and eventually the skin of someone else by accident, for the whole flight. Call me "paranoid" if you like, but it's true, catching this virus in a crowded and/or cramped place during transport or transit was my worst fear (metro, bus, plane, train and even elevator... It could happen anywhere).


You see, the mask does not really protect you from the virus. If someone is infected, does not wear a mask and sneezes on you (or coughs or even simply sputs while talking), the mask will protect the covered parts of your face (due to the liquid-repellent treatment the mask has been treated with), but you'll probably get it anyway, as some particles will unavoidably land on any of the other parts of your face or body that are not covered.


In fact, the mask protects others from you. If you wear a mask and sneeze (cough or sput), the particles stay within the mask, the same goes for everyone and it is the best way to curb the propagation of virus and protect others.


That is why they recommend wearing long sleeves shirt or sweater while flying. If bare arms (or legs) get in contact between two people, the skin being porous, there is a high chance that you might get infected, either by direct contact with the skin and/or via the leftover sweat on the surface of the armrest you share with the passenger next to you.


So, having no one relieved certain stress I had prior to boarding. Now that I knew I would be "safe" for the next 12 hours and 45 minutes (roughly the time to travel between Hong Kong and London), I could finally relax. I needed a drink. Good timing, a flight attendant was passing by with the drinks. I asked for some white wine. Sauvignon, as I like my white better when dry, light, mineral and zesty (especially compared to Chardonnay, the only other choice).


I think she liked me as she gave me 2 bottles (of 187ml each), or maybe was it my alcoholic head, easily recognizable due to my loyalty to this beverage for the last 30 years as a Sommelier? I could not tell... It did not matter anyway. I gulped the first bottle as if I had not drunk for years. A second flight attendant passed by in between to serve the dinner. Then, the first attendant passed by again, and I smilingly winked at her holding the first empty bottle to show her I needed a refill. "Sure", she said with a smile. Coming back a minute later with 2 more bottles, a wink and a smile back... she definitely liked me. 😉












To be continued soon - work in progress... I just realized that the reading time for this post is 22 minutes already, while I still have a lot to tell and write to finish that story.... (sigh)


Let me know in the comment below if you want to read more about this story and I will create a new post to write the rest of the story... Thank you for reading all the above already


.............




Thanks for reading my posts, (a bit long I know, but interesting story, no?)


Til' next time,


Be safe, be healthy, be protected, be nice, be good, be courteous.


Domelgabor (a.k.a. The courteous stickman)



Sources, explanations and links:


(1) Parents will understand what I mean, no matter what age is your kid(s), the first few back-to-school days are always very hectic with multiple forgotten or unseen things to be done at the last minute.


(2) It is a Hong Kong thing, most families have a "helper" at home to help with kids, house cleaning, groceries, etc...


(3) Most people dying from COVID-19 are people of a certain age (above 65-70) and/or already presenting other pathologies prior to getting infected. However, in the last few months, it seems that an increasing amount of people between 20 to 45 years old have been infected and died from the virus.


(4) More details on Hong Kong travelling inbound exceptions at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/inbound-travel.html


(5) "Fragrant Harbour" is the romanticized name of Hong Kong


(6) United kingdom: If you intend to travel to the UK in the next few weeks, here are some useful links of conditions you should read prior to your departure


(7) France: if you intend to travel to France in the next few weeks, here are some useful links of conditions you should read prior to your departure


(8) Locals in Hong Kong go to those establishments as the test is cheap, yet it comes at the annoying price of waiting long hours from early morning, every day, to get a spot (if they can get it, as places are limited per day). HK government made it free at the end of July to increase the total of people tested daily/monthly, following the recommendations of the World Health Organization and the CDC, which have been urging (for the few months) testing to be done at a larger scale to obtain broader results and uncover more asymptomatically infected individuals.


(9) For more details on Hong Kong private clinics and hospitals and their prices on COVID-19 test, go to https://www.orphf.gov.hk/en






68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page